Boyceville High School Science Olympiad finishes 22nd overall at Solon Invite in Solon, Ohio, MS 23rd overall

SOLON, OH – The Boyceville MS & HS Science Olympiad teams participated this past weekend in the Solon Science Olympiad Invitational in Solon, OH with the high school varsity team finishing 22nd  out of 72 teams and the middle school team finishing in 23rd place overall out of 52 teams.  Eight different states were represented at this tournament, including Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Pennsylvania and four of the top five teams from last year’s national tournament were also in attendance.

The team departed by coach bus for Solon, Ohio on Thursday evening, and the bus traveled through the night before arriving at the Harry London Chocolate Factory in Canton, OH on Friday.  Friday was spent touring the chocolate factory as well as the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton before retiring to the hotel for the evening.

Earning a tournament championship gold medal at this prestigious tournament was Jaden Reisimer and Steven Rasmussen in Boomilever.  Tournament runner-up silver medals were earned by Emma Bygd, Mark Timper, and Ana Evenson in Protein Modeling.  Bronze medals were earned by Cade Klefstad and Connor Sempf in Mystery Architecture.  Fourth place finishes were earned by Brady Helland and Nathan Corr in Wright Stuff.  Fifth place finishes were earned by Caden Wold and Parker Coombs in Battery Buggy and Elijah Farrell and Zach Kersten in Elastic Launch Gliders.  Sixth place finishes were earned by Austin Hatfield and Steven Rasmussen in Mystery Architecture and Luke Becker and Greg Moore-Kamuti in Solar System.  A seventh place finish was earned by Preston Coombs and Caden Wold in Boomilever, and an eighth place finish was earned by John Klefstad and Trent Peterson in Boomilever.

The entire team and coaching staff would like to extend a huge thank you to all of the parents, community members, and staff members who have helped and made a trip like this possible.  In particular, the team would like to extend a thank you to the parent/adult chaperones who attended with the team, including Brent & Molly Klefstad, Amy Corr, Craig & Sharon Formoe, Kelly & Diane Helland, and Tony Pelikan.  Boyceville Science Olympiad is coached by Andy Hamm, Jenna Willi, and Steve Duerst.

Boyceville MS is back in competition at the regional tournament it hosts on February 16th, while Boyceville HS goes to regionals at Menomonie HS on February 23rd.