BHS & BMS Earn State Spirit Awards and Team Trophies

Boyceville High School 4th at State for Record 10th Year in Row, Middle School 5th 

MILWAUKEE – Boyceville High School’s Science Olympiad team earned medals in 16 out of 23 events at the state tournament this past weekend in Milwaukee, smashing the school record of 15 set in 2012 and repeated in 2017, on their way to a fourth place overall finish.  Boyceville also earned five state championship gold medals, second most among all teams.

Boyceville Middle School earned medals in 12 out of 23 events and a school record four state championship gold medals on their way to a fifth place overall finish, scoring under 200 points at state for only the third time in school history.

In addition, both the middle school and high school teams won the Spirit Award, given to the school in each division that best demonstrates the core principles of Science Olympiad, including sportsmanship, team collaboration, and team spirit as voted on by event supervisors.  Boyceville is the only school district to have both their middle school and high school teams win the spirit award at the state tournament, and this is the second time it has happened (also in 2016).

State Championships were earned by senior Rian Corr and freshman Nathan Corr in Electric Wright Stuff, senior Casey Owen and sophomore Cade Klefstad in both Towers and Mission Possible, junior Mark Timper and sophomore Caitlyn Pelikan in WiFi Lab, sophomores Ana Evenson, Jasmine Windsor, and Pelikan in Experimental Design, freshmen Brady Helland and Connor Sempf in three events:  Battery Buggy, Towers, and Wright Stuff, and eighth graders Elijah Farrell and Logan Windsor in Mystery Architecture.

A state runner-up silver medal was earned by senior Brennan Wheeldon and Jasmine Windsor in Forensics

Bronze medals were earned by senior Jason Swanepoel and sophomore Noelle Wheeldon in Rocks & Minerals, senior Emmett Kapsner, Timper, and Rian Corr in Protein modeling, Corr and Corr in Mousetrap Vehicle, Evenson, Pelikan, and Noelle Wheeldon in Picture This, freshman Grace Edlin and sixth grader Peter Wheeldon in Ping Pong Parachute, freshman Tanner Anderson and eighth grader Luke Becker in Solar System, eighth graders Ella Holden, Shiloh Wheeldon, and Kayden Benson in Experimental Design, and eighth graders John Klefstad and Preston Coombs in Towers.

Fourth place medals were earned by senior Alexis Meixner and sophomore Emma Bygd in WiFi Lab, Helland and Sempf in both Anatomy & Physiology and Road Scholar, Helland and Luke Becker in Meteorology, and Edlin and Luke Becker in Rocks & Minerals.

Fifth place medals were earned by Kapsner and Owen in Hovercraft, senior Lee Bolduc and sophomore Rachel Becker in Towers, Benson and Shiloh Wheeldon in Potions & Poisons, and John Klefstad and Coombs in Battery Buggy.

Sixth place medals were earned by senior Marissa Dormanen and Timper in Anatomy & Physiology, Kapsner and Swanepoel in Astronomy, Swanepoel and Noelle Wheeldon in Dynamic Planet, Noelle Wheeldon and Rian Corr in Ecology, Swanepoel and Jasmine Windsor in Remote Sensing, and sophomore Steven Rasmussen and Bygd in Electric Wright Stuff.

“This is one of the hardest working teams I have ever had.” said Boyceville Head Coach Andy Hamm.  “Our students hard worked tirelessly since October studying their events, building and testing their devices, and to see all of that hard work pay off was inspiring.  To win the spirit award again makes me so proud of all of our students and their high character and class.  I am so proud of this group’s accomplishments and it is sad to see all of our seniors move on, but they have really left their mark in a positive way on Boyceville Science Olympiad.”

Boyceville would like to thank the Hostetter Family and the entire Boyceville Community and School District for their support of the Science Olympiad program in Boyceville this season.  Boyceville Science Olympiad is coached by Andy Hamm, Jenna Willi, and Steve Duerst.

Final Results of the 2018 Wisconsin High School Science Olympiad State Tournament 

  1. Madison West 61
  2. Menomonie 91
  3. Marquette Univ HS 123
  4. Boyceville 147
  5. Marshfield 150
  6. Medford 154
  7. Racine Prairie 218
  8. Belleville 307
  9. Bloomer 368
  10. Slinger 370
  11. Sheboygan North 383
  12. Wausau West 386
  13. Brookfield Central 405
  14. Cambridge 414
  15. Denmark 414
  16. Marshall 438
  17. Platteville 452
  18. Madison Edgewood 469
  19. Oregon 475
  20. Evansville 478
  21. Madison La Follette 489
  22. New Richmond 490
  23. Verona 512
  24. Kenosha Indian Trail 516
  25. Brookfield East 529
  26. DC Everest 537
  27. Shell Lake 538
  28. Lakeland Union 542
  29. Beloit Turner 542
  30. Elk Mound 574
  31. Middleton 581
  32. Waunakee 586
  33. Baldwin-Woodville 596
  34. St. Croix Central 600
  35. Chilton 624
  36. Osseo-Fairchild 635
  37. Chetek-Weyerhaeuser 637
  38. Madison Memorial 643
  39. West Allis Nathan Hale 646
  40. Chippewa Falls 672
  41. Sun Prairie 697
  42. Athens 733
  43. Monona Grove 765
  44. Harborside Academy 800
  45. Poynette 802
  46. Spring Valley 822
  47. Shorewood 1013


Full results available at:



Final Results of the 2018 Wisconsin Middle School Science Olympiad State Tournament


  1. Madison Hamilton 46
  2. Menomonie 125
  3. Waunakee 151
  4. Madison Eagle 159
  5. Boyceville 176
  6. Hudson 227
    7.            Sparta STEM                       239
  7. Platteville 258
  8. Verona Badger Ridge 287
  9. Cambridge Nikolay 304
  10. Evansville JC McKenna 309
  11. Marshall 339
  12. Mount Horeb 344
  13. Campbellsport 344
  14. Lake Country 346
  15. Hartford Central 363
  16. Shorewood 370
  17. Monroe 409
  18. Harborside Academy 436
  19. Beloit McNeel 460
  20. Eleva Strum 489
  21. Antigo All Saints Cath 495
  22. Tomah 497
  23. Chetek-Weyerhaeuser 502
  24. Monona Grove GD 506
  25. Johnson Creek 515
  26. Elmwood 539
  27. Madison Edgewood 540

Full Results Available at: