BHS Wins Small School Division & Spirit Award at UWRF

Boyceville HS Wins Small School Division at UWRF, 2nd Overall 

RIVER FALLS – The Boyceville High School Science Olympiad teams earned their highest team finish in tournament history at the UWRF Border Battle Science Olympiad Invitational Tournament this past Saturday, finishing 2nd overall out of 64 teams and winning the small school division, which was comprised of schools with less than 950 students in grade 9-12.  In addition, the high school team won the spirit award as voted on by event supervisors for their outstanding display of positive team spirit and sportsmanship all day long.

The high school team was led by senior Jason Swanepoel, who earned medals in all six of his events, seniors Rian Corr and Casey Owen with five event medals each, and junior Mark Timper and sophomores Ana Evenson, Jasmine Windsor, and Noelle Wheeldon with four event medals.  Freshmen Brady Helland and Connor Sempf also earned four event medals.  Earning three event medals were senior Brennan Wheeldon, sophomores Caitlyn Pelikan, Cade Klefstad, and Emma Bygd, and freshman Nathan Corr.

Boyceville High School also bested several state champion teams form 2017, including Bismark (North Dakota), Lincoln Southwest (Nebraska), Medford (Wisconsin), and Mounds View (Minnesota).

“We have never finished as high as 2nd as a team at this large tournament.” said head coach Andy Hamm.  “To beat Medford, the defending state champion, by such a wide margin is encouraging that the student’s hard work is paying off.  I am so proud of all of the hard work that everybody is putting in and hopeful for some special moments as we near the state tournament.”

Boyceville High School will next be in action at the Solon Ohio Invitational on February 3rd followed by the Middle School Regional Tournament at home on February 17th.  Boyceville Science Olympiad is coached by Andy Hamm, Jenna Willi, and Steve Duerst.

Final Results of the 7th Annual UW-River Falls Science Olympiad Invitational 

Rank Team Division Team Score
1 Menomonie (WI) A L 78
2 Boyceville (WI) A S 135
3 Menomonie (WI) B L 169
4 Lincoln (NE) L 189
5 Mounds View (MN) A L 208
6 Medford (WI) A S 213
7 Wayzata (MN) A L 240
8 Eastview (MN) A L 258
9 Bloomington Kennedy (MN) A L 294
10 Mounds View (MN) B L 305
11 Wayzata (MN) A L 360
12 Bloomer (WI) A S 374
13 Belleville (WI) S 383
14 Irondale (MN) L 394
15 Chippewa Falls (WI) A L 454
16 Eden Prairie (MN) A L 455
17 Boyceville (WI) B S 461
18 Rochester Mayo (MN) A L 478
19 Denmark (WI) A S 500
20 New Richmond (WI) A S 503
21 Spring Lake Park (MN) A L 528
22 Woodbury (MN) L 548
23 Bismark (ND) L 552
24 Denmark (WI) B S 565
25 Apple Valley (MN) A L 569
26 Bloomington Jefferson (MN) A L 579
27 Shell Lake (WI) A S 591
28 Elk Mound (WI) A S 593
29 Bloomington Jefferson (MN) B L 625
30 Medford (WI) B S 631
31 Minnetonka (MN) A L 634
32 Eastview (MN) B L 638
33 Stewartville (MN) S 666
34 St. Croix Central (WI) A S 673
35 Chippewa Falls (WI) B L 679
36 Orono (MN) S 693
37 Blake (MN) A S 709
38 Eden Prairie (MN) B L 711
39 Rochester John Marshall (MN) L 744
40 Lakeville South (MN) L 772
41 Bloomer (WI) B S 792
42 Minnetonka (MN) B L 808
43 Sparta (WI) S 849
44 Delano (MN) A S 854
45 Baldwin-Woodville (WI) S 867
46 Tomah (WI) S 881
47 Waseca (MN) A S 885
48 New Richmond (WI) B S 893
49 Legacy (ND) S 900
50 Rochester Mayo (MN) B L 912
51 Osseo-Fairchild (WI) S 919
52 Spring Lake Park (MN) B L 947
53 Lakeville North (MN) L 955
54 Shell Lake (WI) B S 988
55 Delano (MN) B S 1023
56 Spring Valley (WI) S 1032
57 Elk Mound (WI) B S 1042
58 Blake (MN) B S 1118
59 St. Croix Central (WI) B S 1127
60 Colfax (WI) S 1174
61 Apple Valley (MN) B L 1221
62 Bloomington Kennedy (MN) B L 1240
63 Northfield (MN) L 1275
64 St. Michael – Albertville (MN) L 1392